Boating in California

Registration, titles, boater education and taxes, from California Department of Motor Vehicles (registration); Division of Boating and Waterways (education) and other official sources.

Check the rules for your boat

Registering agencyCalifornia Department of Motor Vehicles (registration); Division of Boating and Waterways (education)
Registration feesrenewal $20 per 2 years; $10 late penalty
Renewal2 years (expires Dec 31 of odd-numbered years)
Titleyes (California Certificate of Ownership issued with registration)
Boater educationState law allows courts to order any boat operator that is convicted of a moving violation. Violators must take and successfully complete course [per USCG-hosted NASBLA state survey; survey date not shown, may be outdated]; all ages (since Jan 1, 2025) for any engine-propelled vessel; California Boater Card
Sales/use tax7.25% statewide base rate + district taxes 0.10%-2.00% -- use tax collected by DMV at registration (applies to boats brought in within 12 months of purchase); rate depends on location
Property taxyes
FormsOfficial forms

Sources

Checked 2026-10-24. Rules change; confirm with the agency.

Places in California

Top boating cities in California

San Leandro (#98) · Oakland (#106) · Alameda (#114) · Berkeley (#127) · South San Francisco (#133) · San Bruno (#137) · Daly City (#143) · Walnut Creek (#147) · Danville (#149) · Hayward (#152) · Richmond (#153) · San Mateo (#159) · Vallejo (#164) · San Ramon (#168) · San Rafael (#171) · Concord (#183) · Union City (#194) · Redwood City (#201) · Norwalk (#233) · Lakewood (#234) · Bellflower (#235) · Dublin (#236) · Novato (#238) · Cerritos (#239) · Monterey Park (#243) · Paramount (#244) · Montebello (#246) · Whittier (#247) · Huntington Park (#248) · South Gate (#250) · All 250 boating cities

Registration, titling and documentation guide · Boater education by state

Some place counts © OpenStreetMap contributors, available under the Open Database License (ODbL).