Boating in Rhode Island
Registration, titles, boater education and taxes, from Rhode Island DEM and other official sources.
| Registering agency | Rhode Island DEM |
| Registration fees | 1-15 ft $32 biennial; title $25 (+$15 lien) |
| Renewal | 2 years |
| Title | yes for boats over 14 ft |
| Boater education | operators of motorized vessels over 10 hp; all PWC operators; born after 1986-01-01 |
| Sales/use tax | 0% on boats: R.I. Gen. Laws §44-18-30(48) exempts boats/vessels (general rate 7%; parts and accessories remain taxable) -- boats generally exempt from RI sales tax (except purchases before 1993-07-29); outboard motors 7% from retailers; cap: n/a: boats/vessels exempt from sales and use tax (R.I. Gen. Laws 44-18-30) |
| Property tax | no if registered |
| Forms | Official forms |
Sources
Checked 2026-10-24. Rules change; confirm with the agency.
Places in Rhode Island
Top boating cities in Rhode Island
Warwick (#65) · Cranston (#74) · East Providence (#82) · Providence (#91) · Pawtucket (#160) · All 250 boating cities
Registration, titling and documentation guide · Boater education by state
Some place counts © OpenStreetMap contributors, available under the Open Database License (ODbL).