Boating in Massachusetts
Registration, titles, boater education and taxes, from Massachusetts Environmental Police (Office of Law Enforcement) and other official sources.
| Registering agency | Massachusetts Environmental Police (Office of Law Enforcement) |
| Registration fees | <16 ft $44; 16-25 $66; 26-39 $88; 40+ $110; title $27.50 |
| Renewal | 2 years |
| Title | yes for boats 14 ft or longer that use or are designed for a motor |
| Boater education | Any person of at least 12 years of age and less than 16 yoa, operating a motorboat without adult supervision. PWC users 16 and 17 years of age. (PWC's cannot be operated by youth less than 16 yoa). [per USCG-hosted NASBLA state survey; survey date not shown, may be outdated]; ages 12-15 operating a motorboat without adult supervision; 16-17 for PWC [per USCG-hosted NASBLA survey; may be outdated] |
| Sales/use tax | 6.25% of total purchase price, due 20th of following month |
| Property tax | boat excise instead |
| Forms | Official forms |
Sources
Checked 2026-10-24. Rules change; confirm with the agency.
Places in Massachusetts
Top boating cities in Massachusetts
New Bedford (#16) · Lynn (#29) · Fall River (#30) · Malden (#31) · Salem (#32) · Peabody (#36) · Everett (#37) · Brockton (#39) · Somerville (#45) · Woburn (#48) · Cambridge (#50) · Medford (#51) · Beverly (#52) · Chelsea (#54) · Lawrence (#57) · Revere (#62) · Quincy (#70) · Newton (#73) · Weymouth Town (#76) · Waltham (#81) · Boston (#89) · Taunton (#101) · Lowell (#104) · Barnstable Town (#129) · Framingham (#144) · Haverhill (#146) · Methuen (#151) · Attleboro (#179) · All 250 boating cities
Registration, titling and documentation guide · Boater education by state